en English
ar Arabiczh-CN Chinese (Simplified)nl Dutchen Englishfr Frenchde Germanit Italianpt Portugueseru Russianes Spanish

Our Former Bishops

Bishop Eciru’s Predecessors:

Rt. Rev. Erasmus Emeritus Wandera, 1st Bishop Of Soroti Catholic Diocese

The 1st Bishop of Soroti Catholic Diocese, Rt. Rev. Erasmus Desderius Wandera (RIP), was born at Osia in Tororo Archdiocese on 16th April 1930. He was ordained priest on 27th December 1956. He was appointed the first Bishop of Soroti Catholic Diocese on 29th November 1980, and consecrated Bishop on 29th March 1981. He retired on 6th October 2007, and was succeeded by Rt. Rev. Emmanuel Obbo, A.J.

Upon retirement, Bishop Emeritus Erasmus D. Wandera (RIP) took residence at the Diocesan House in Mbale City. Here he stayed quietly, and would often say Masses for the Christians at St. Austin’s church Mbale, until his health deteriorated and rendered him unable to undertake any pastoral ministry. Bishop E.D. Wandera died on 8th December 2022, and was laid to rest at Immaculate Conception Cathedral, Soroti City, Soroti Catholic Diocese.

Most Rev. Emmanuel Obbo, A.J.
The Most. Rev. Emmanuel Obbo, A.J., was born in Nagongera Parish in Tororo (Archdiocese of Tororo) on 7th October 1952. He was ordained priest of the Congregation of the Apostles of Jesus (A.J.) on 13th December 1986 in Nagongera Parish. He was appointed Bishop of Soroti Catholic Diocese on 27th June 2007. He was ordained Bishop and installed as the second Ordinary of Soroti Catholic Diocese on 6th October 2007. In 2014, he was appointed Archbishop of Tororo Archdiocese. He was, at the same time, appointed Apostolic Administrator for Soroti Catholic Diocese, an office which he served till the consecration and installation of Rt. Rev. Joseph Eciru Oliach as 3rd Bishop of Soroti Catholic Diocese on 25th May 2019.